Postcard from Mumbles Lighthouse
It seems to be a quiet week in Trinity House history of the ‘On This Day’ variety, so here’s another postcard for your viewing pleasure.
This postcard is from the Mumbles Lighthouse, built in the picturesque Swansea Bay in 1794. It wasn’t until 1 November 1975 that Trinity House assumed responsibility for the lighthouse from the British Transport Docks Board.
The Mumbles originally displayed two open coal fire lights one above the other to distinguish it from St. Ann’s Head Lighthouse which had two lights on separate towers and Flatholm Lighthouse with one light.
Postcard from Hunstanton Lighthouse
The now-defunct Hunstanton Lighthouse is located in Norfolk. The present lighthouse was built in 1840 although there has been a lighthouse on the site since 1665. The present lighthouse ceased operations in 1922, since when it has been a private residence and a holiday let.
Postcard from Souter Point Lighthouse
Souter Point Lighthouse was built by Trinity House in 1871 and decommissioned in 1988, at which point it was handed over to the National Trust, who opened it to the public in 1990.
It was one of the first lighthouses in the world designed and built to be powered by electricity, being first lit 11 January 1871.
Most recently, it earned attention as the scene of the ‘Foghorn Requiem‘, when more than 50 ships gathered on the North Sea to perform an ambitious musical score on 22 June 2013.