“Letter from Captain Millison, our buoy keeper at Yarmouth that some disorderly persons have lately broke several panes of glass in the Castor lighthouses. Captain M. to publish a reward of two guineas to anyone who shall discover the person or persons who did that mischief, so that he may be prosecuted without delay.”
The lighthouse at Castor or Caistor was established in the early 17th century and taken over by Trinity House for its improved operation before too long. A light was exhibited until its discontinuation in 1923.
“Mr. Boult the agent and buoy keeper at Yarmouth had been over to Caistor [Lighthouse] to inspect the repairs which Mr. Fish (the Lt. Keeper) had proposed “to have done in a very expensive manner” to the amount of £45, but he thought they might be effectively carried out for £20, which the Mason and Carpenter would undertake them at. Ordered, that he should agree with them at that amount.”